Reviews

zagat-award-emblem

Eater Boston 2/16/16

Check us out! 75 on Liberty Wharf was singled out as one of Boston’s Best Boozy Brunches by the Eater Boston website.

zagat.com 6/17/16

We are excited to be named one of Zagat’s “12 Must-Try Restaurants” in Boston’s Seaport District. Click here to view the award.

foodistaonpointe.com   4/9/13

As a performer, Sundays are not always the ‘day of rest’ that they represent for most people. When we are in a production run at the Boston Ballet, Sundays are like any other performance day, up in the morning, on to class and usual preparations and then on with a matinee…the hardest thing is that you have to bypass all those lucky people just getting up and facing the world with a good brunch. This past Sunday, however, was different   It was Easter Sunday and even though we have been in performance mode with The Sleeping Beauty, because of this holiday, we did not have a show scheduled on the 31st.  So on top of it being Easter, which in my book, is reason enough to celebrate; it was a free Sunday for us as well.  Add to this the beautiful weather and the wonderful brunch my friend and I enjoyed at 75 on Liberty Wharf, and it was probably the best Sunday ever.  Between all the various Easter Brunches being offered around town, 75 on Liberty seemed like a logical choice, first of all, I had never been (gasp), secondly, it features a live jazz brunch and most of all, they have a Bloody Mary Bar.. Add to that the incredible views of the Seaport on a beautiful and day you can have it all. It being such a gorgeous day, my friend and I actually sat outside.  They have wind walls that go up as well as heat lamps. So even if it was still a bit nippy, these elements made you feel quite toasty 🙂 After settling in, we went right to the Bloody Mary Bar where they have three different kinds of Bloody Mary mix and a whole slew of additional ingredients and toppings.  I went with their house mix, a bit of horseradish, blue cheese stuffed olives and a celery stalk. It was fantastic! We took our time ordering, it was just so nice to sit and chat by the water. When we did order, we got their field greens with asparagus, roasted reds and roasted butternut squash all drizzled with bright balsamic vinaigrette.  It was delicious and colorful – a perfect way to complement our drinks 🙂 For our main meal, we shared their Main Lobster Omelets, a special addition for this Easter Sunday.  It was incredibly fresh and juicy, like they had just caught the lobster a minute before. We could not resist their raspberry stuffed French toast either…and good thing we didn’t try! Two thick cut pieces of French toast with mascarpone and raspberry filling.  All topped with maple syrup, strawberries and dusted sugar…need I say more? Somehow we polished off our halves without any trouble.  I couldn’t imagine ordering it all to myself though. We relaxed a while longer after our meal, it had been a leisurely brunch indeed and the only thing that would have made the experience even better, would have been if the music from the live jazz band would have been filtered to the outdoor patio…something for next time:)I didn’t end up doing much the rest of the day, but with such a great start, I really didn’t need to!

Phantom Gourmet 3/16/13

Phantom Gourmet: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hT72-rlNJ60

Westborough Patch 3/01/13

While I try to be objective in my reviews, there are biases creeping in.  For example, almost anything in the Liberty Wharf area in the Seaport District is a hit because of the waterfront location.  Places like Del Frisco’s and Legal Harborside are thriving, while some of the old guard get ready to go.

On a recent wintry Saturday, Yvonne and I spent an evening enjoying dinner and some adult beverages while overlooking the fish pier.  I was fascinated watching the road crews scoop up piles of snow and truck it away, wondering about the environmental impact that would come from a few shovels of snow going into the harbor.  (These are heady times.)

As we enjoyed some wine, we reviewed the menu and found it offered a variety of fresh seafood AND Gluten Free choices.

The menu had a number of entrees on the healthier side of the ledger, including Steamed Mussels, Atlantic Cod Filet, Seafood Stew, and Meyer Lemon Chicken Breast.

On this particular evening, we enjoyed the Char-Grilled Atlantic Salmon Filet, “served with roasted organic lentils, sautéed spinach, wild mushrooms, crispy polenta, grilled asparagus and roasted red pepper coulis.”  This dish included many highly recommended healthy options (salmon, lentils and spinach), and was light, yet flavorful.

I can’t honestly say I’m a big salmon fan, yet I found the preparation and presentation of this dish very enjoyable.  Grilled asparagus is one of my favorites, and these large crisp spears were particularly delicious.  The polenta had an interesting presentation and delightful taste.  The two patrons sitting next to us ordered the same entrée after seeing ours delivered and hearing our comments!

Overall, 75 on Liberty Wharf is one of my absolute favorites in the Liberty Wharf area.  I rue the day the summer arrives and lines form outside this little find of a restaurant.  Until then, saddle up and make the trip into town.  You’ll be happy you did.

75 Liberty Wharf: Classic New England Fare On A Modern Marina                

Just Luxe Travel 2/22/13

It’s time to venture out of your comfort zone. Yes, that means getting off the couch and heading into Boston for a night on the town. We know it’s difficult, but trust us, you’ll be glad you did. Head on over to the Seaport District’s 75 on Liberty Wharf, sibling restaurant to the luxe 75 Chestnut eatery in Beacon Hill. This casually elegant outpost is located right on the water with floor-to-ceiling glass windows that allow unobstructed views of the surrounding wharf.

The restaurant features a brunch, lunch and dinner menu in addition to its extensive offering of beverages. Guests can order from 75’s Green Libation menu, which is comprised of liquors that are either certified organic or made with organic products. The Healthy Resolution, for example, blends Chia seeds soaked in Bully Boy Organic Vodka, shaken with organic blood orange juice and raw Kombucha. If tequila is more your style, get started with a spicy margarita paired alongside a cup of the restaurant’s rich clam chowder.

Seafood is the name of the game here so guests may enjoy a bowl of 75 Liberty Wharf’s steamed mussels, served in a flavorful broth of roasted tomato and garlic and accompanied by crusty French bread for dipping. We loved the simply stated Pasta Caprese with tomatoes, mozzarella and basil, but the declared winner of the night was the Nantucket Seafood Stew. The dish was filled with a variety of flavorful sea fare including Gulf shrimp, scallops, salmon, swordfish, halibut and sea bass cooked with garden vegetables and bliss potatoes. To finish, we rounded out our relaxed evening with a cup of coffee while taking in the beautiful scenery.

In the summer time, be sure to request a seat on the outdoor patio. 75 on Liberty Wharf’s alfresco dining allows for lovely views of the harbor while the sun sets across the marina. For cooler evenings, the patio features several heaters to keep diners toasty during their meal. Even on busy days, the patio doubles the 1,500 square feet of indoor seating capacity, ensuring hungry guests a seat inside this popular waterside restaurant.

NECN TV Diner 01/25/13

www.necn.com/01/…/landing_tvd_anonreviews.html?…

40 Something Life.com 01/17/13

As cozy as its sister 75 Chestnut in Beacon Hill with a menu exactly the same, 75 on Liberty Wharf offers something old with something new.  The new being prime real estate on Liberty Wharf in the Seaport District, the old being the comfort of knowing the food you are going to eat will be (or at least should be) good.

This tiny little restaurant sits right next to Del Frisco’s and at first I honestly could not for the life of me imagine a restaurant in that space, it’s so small.  After my visit last week with friends, I can now say it works.  Seating 60 patrons at small tables and a long bar across one wall, there is an immediate warmth to 75.  They do have outdoor seating that will be wonderful in the warmer months with a view of the harbor.  This will add another 60 seats to their space. There was however some very brave souls sat outside under the heat lamps on this cold Tuesday evening.   They make use of the view with floor to ceiling glass walls on three sides, which adds openness to 75 but also they manage to keep it cozy.

Seated in the center of the little restaurant, we looked at the menu.  My friends, Tricia and Kathryn were as eager as I was to order a number of different items.
Some warming red wine first with a glass of Malbec, one of my favorite winter wines. The appetizer menu offers winter comforts such as Clam Chowder and Five Alarm Chili, along with great sounding salads.  We decided on the Crispy Calamari to share.  As fresh as if it was just caught and as crunchy and light and morish as possible, this is a perfect starter for a group of friends.  I loved the zesty marinara sauce.We took our time with deciding on entrées and felt absolutely no push to move us on, even as the place was filling up both at the bar and all of the tables.  Our waiter and waiter in training were both as pleasant and attentive as could be.Torn between so many different choices I eventually settled on the Char-Grilled Atlantic Salmon.  A colorful plate of food arrived in front of me. There is a wonderful mix of flavors in this dish from the strong yet delicate salmon to the crunchy asparagus to the briny spinach and earthy mushrooms.  Not forgetting my favorite part the perfectly crispy polenta.  I was on to a winner with this dish.I asked my friends what they thought of their own entrées and this is what they had to say.  Kathryn ordered the Steamed Mussels…. “Paired with chorizo, roasted tomatoes and garlic, the mussels float in a light red sauce.  Topped with a slice of grilled dipping bread (I admit, I wanted more than one slice), this entrée is a must have when visiting 75 Chestnut or 75 Liberty.  The portion size is quite large too. I’d recommend sharing it with a friend.” Tricia ordered the Italian Bistro Burger… “The Seaport burger is a half-pound of fresh ground chuck topped with melted Swiss cheese and sautéed mushrooms (although I skipped these!) on a toasted fresh baked roll served with crispy French fries. The burger has the perfect amount of seasoning and pairs well with a glass of red wine.  It is a hearty burger so bring your appetite!”Although it was Sweet Tooth Tuesday, we could not handle any dessert.  Instead, we just ordered another glass of wine.  It was the right thing to do on a cold Tuesday.
The one negative I have, but I am not sure what the fix would be is the under floor heating, which adds a little too much warmth to your feet.  I also had my handbag on the floor that was literally hot to touch when I picked it up. My feel felt a little swollen in my shoes.The service is good, the price point is perfect, the food is comforting and the location is just right.

Boston Globe 1/15/13 

75 on Liberty Wharf a small restaurant with big views By Dan Zedek

With its view overlooking Boston Harbor, 75 on Liberty Wharf offers up hearty meals such as steamed mussels and Nantucket seafood stew: shrimp, cod, swordfish, halibut, and scallops in a tomato broth.

‘Well, that’s a nice surprise,” says a friend when we spot the tiny glass kiosk of 75 on Liberty Wharf. It’s not exactly hard to find, but a small, cozy restaurant with big, dramatic views is not what we’ve come to expect on this rapidly developing stretch of waterfront dominated by multi-floor dining palaces. Owner Thomas A. Kershaw and executive chef Markus Ripperger of Beacon Hill’s 75 on Chestnut — itself a nice surprise of a restaurant — have created a new place where creative cocktails and well-executed versions of pub favorites are set against the twinkling lights of the harbor.

You open the front door and realize just how small it is: less than a dozen tables seating about 60, with the same number outside on the wooden deck. On this night, the open-air tables are empty despite heat lamps, but they’re a reminder that someday spring will come and this location will be spectacular.

The restaurant is immediately welcoming, with a warm wood bar, a heated tile floor, and dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows revealing the harbor view to every table. Three women at the bar are dishing about the new guy at work, couples both young and middle-aged are huddled in conversation, and there’s a 30th birthday party at the far end. There are even a few out-of-towners for whom a Boston restaurant with harbor views probably seems like a tradition rather than a recent innovation. The small TV over the bar has the game on, but the sound is off and nobody’s paying much attention. If you’re interested in watching, the screens at Jerry Remy’s place, 100 long yards away, are much bigger even from a distance.

Everybody seems to have a cocktail from the lengthy drinks menu. Many of the selections are “green libations” and include organic liquors and healthy restorative juices. I’m looking to restore my sanity on a Friday night, not my health, so I choose the Spicy Dirty martini. With a generous dollop of olive juice, a pepperoncini, and olives stuffed with blue cheese, it’s more than dirty: it’s downright filthy. A rye Manhattan has just the right balance of sweetness and bitters. The Winter Blues margarita incorporates organic juices and orange liqueur in a way that brings to mind fresh fruit, not melted Popsicles. The seasonal apple-pear co­gnac, with some brandy, cinnamon, and nutmeg, is too heavy on spices, but the Twisted Apple Cider with rum is simple and warming. Non-alcoholic drinks are less successful: a server whisks away a house-made ginger beer from a disappointed patron and the Blood Coconut made with blood orange juice and coconut water is not much better. (Can we agree that coconut water gives a bad name to both coconuts and water?)

Service is friendly and attentive, including the host who handles crowds with grace (when a place this size doesn’t take reservations, there can be a wait, but there’s usually room to squeeze in at the bar until your table is ready). Our server is eager to recommend appetizers, and they’re quite good here. Clam chowder is classic and it had better be at a restaurant in the shadow of Legal Harborside: thick, creamy, and full of potatoes that haven’t lost their texture. A Mainer proclaims, “This tastes like my childhood,” and we all agree even though our childhoods taste more like grilled cheese and Campbell’s tomato soup. The calamari are just about perfect: light, crisp, seemingly grease-free, and served with both a simple tartar sauce and a marinara packed with fresh basil. Pumpkin ravioli in sage and tomato vodka sauce is also carefully prepared with al dente pasta topped with sweet roasted pumpkin and shaved Parmesan. Only a salad of mixed greens comes up short, composed of chopped romaine and mushy roasted butternut squash in a vinaigrette that could have come out of a bottle.

Entrees continue the theme of simple, unpretentious crowd favorites prepared with skill. A bowl of steamed mussels is plump and perfectly paired with smoky chorizo. The slight acidity of fresh tomatoes cuts the richness of the saffron cream sauce. It’s big enough to share, and share we do, though the single piece of bread provided isn’t nearly enough to sop up all the savory sauce.

Nantucket seafood stew is a rustic combination of shrimp, cod, swordfish, halibut, and scallops in a tomato broth. Though the deep flavors of the sea suggest long, slow simmering on the stove top, the shrimp and potatoes are still toothsome. This is home cooking that’s actually hard to make this well at home. Fillet of cod is moist below a crisp sear and topped with a classic lemon, garlic, and butter sauce. Wild salmon sits astride a mix of lentils, mushroom, and spinach. The red pepper coulis provides color and not much else, but the batons of fried polenta have a delicious crunch that contrasts with the silky texture of the fish.

The meat side of the menu is almost as good. Porterhouse pork chop is a plump, juicy wonder on top of rich shallot mashed potatoes. Beef medallions are glazed with a red wine reduction and served with garlicky mash and still-crisp green beans. Surprisingly for a restaurant devoted to the basics, the burger is not very good. The Italian bistro version topped with mozzarella, tomato, and pesto sounds like a good idea on the menu, but though the beef is well-cooked, the mozzarella is unmelted and rubbery and the tomato speaks more of supermarket in winter than Italy in summer. After the skill shown frying the calamari, the pale slightly soggy fries that accompany the burger are unexpected and unwelcome.

When dessert comes, skip the thin creme brulee and order molten chocolate cake with ice cream. Cake and ice cream arrive in two ramekins at either end of an oblong plate: hot facing cold, chocolate facing vanilla. We’re smiling even before we take the first bite, the flavor surprise following the visual one.

All in all, it’s been a night of nice surprises. As we bundle up to head out, we take another look at those outdoor tables. Maybe a warm sunny winter lunch will bring us out here before spring arrives.

Zagat’s Review 1/1/13

75 on Liberty Wharf

What’s the Soup.net 12/21/12

A blustery walk past the ICA, past the place where Anthony’s Pier 4 used to be, past the World Trade Center, just before you get to the latest behemoth Legal’s, there’s a little glowing box of a building that’s worth a look. It’s 75 on Liberty Wharf, from the same folks who brought us 75 Chestnut in Beacon Hill. They’ve been open since October, which means there’s been precious little time to take advantage of their spacious patio (though the servers assure me that some hardy souls still do). Inside, there’s not a lot of space, but there’s a beautiful view, a great bar, and some darned good soup.

The place is hopping—once we’re seated, every one of the sixty seats is filled. The air is filled with the happy babble of people just off work. Floor-to-ceiling windows on all sides show us the glittering lights of Boston Harbor, and the atmosphere is welcomingly warm on this chilly December evening. I can imagine that sunsets in the summer from the patio will be spectacular.

In the meantime, the inside will do just fine, especially with a drinks program such as this one, which includes a “green” cocktail menu of sustainably-produced and sourced ingredients. My Tequila Roja, a concoction of organic tequila, St. Germain, lime, and pomegranate is a nice riff on a margarita, complete with a spicy salted rim.

My fellow soup explorer (my blessed upstairs neighbor who saw me through three months of a kitchen/bath renovation) orders the clam chowder, and I order the soup special, a trio of vegetable purées. The big bowl of chowder is good, not too thick, with plenty of juicy clams and a nice briny broth. The trio brings three bright cups of jewels: emerald spinach, ivory parsnip, and ruby beet. (There’s also a panini of brie and apples, making this starter the equivalent of a light lunch.) The spinach is quite rich, almost buttery, and garnished with a glazed walnut that makes a sweet, crunchy contrast to the savory soup. It’s tasty, and perfect for a presentation like this—a whole bowl would make the rest of a meal irrelevant.

I skip over the parsnip for a moment—I’m saving it for last—and sample the deep crimson beet purée, with its dollop of sour cream. This one is subtle: the beet flavor is quieter than, say, borscht, and it’s made complex by the addition of some autumn spices and (if I taste right) lemon.  The third cup is the winner in my estimation: a purée of parsnip, with just the right sweetness and that is-it-there, is-it-not hint of spiciness that makes the parsnip my favorite of root vegetables. This one, I could go for a full-sized bowl of. Hell, I could go for a vat.

As we’re digging into a bowl of mussels with chorizo (whose spicy broth could be a soup on its own) and a braised beef shank caramelized to an insanely tempting darkness, our server brings over a couple more soups to try: a solid chicken vegetable enlivened by kernels of corn, and an equally solid, if mild, chili. The portions are rather generous: the mussels would make great sharing, and the beef shank was, as a friend’s mother used to say, “as big as my fist.” Which always meant going home with a doggy bag.

Tourists, visiting business types, and locals who find themselves blown along the harbor this winter would do well to stop in at 75 on Liberty Wharf to warm up with a drink and some fine soup. Go there now, because once the weather warms up and the patio becomes a real possibility, I’ll bet it’s going to be a challenge getting a table. And I’ll also bet that the soup specials will continue to delight.

Boston Globe Magazine 12/16/12

75 on Liberty Wharf received the wonderful honor of Boston Globe Magazine’s Best New Restaurants Around Boston 2012!

Grafton Patch 11/30/12

One of the greatest revivals in Boston is the Liberty Wharf area in the Seaport District.  Places like Del Frisco’s and Legal Harborside are thriving, while some of the old guard get ready to go.

October 17, 2012 welcomed a new property to the mix with the opening of 75 on Liberty WharfThis tiny (120 seats total – Inside (Bar and Grill) – 60, Outside (Deck) – 60) location is standalone from the other properties, located between Del Frisco’s and the Boston Fish Pier, the first thing you notice are the outdoor “bonfire” style gas torches.  Dramatic, and inviting, you are drawn to the property.

While we could have sat outdoors near one of the Bonfire torches or the fire pit, our New England sensibilities took us inside on this 40 degree afternoon.

Entering the bar and grill area, I expected some of the touristy “Cheers” elements, since 75 on Liberty Wharf is owned by Thomas A. Kershaw who also owns 75 ChestnutCheers Beacon HillCheers Faneuil Hall, and Hampshire House.  While Sam, Diane, Norm and the rest of Cheers was nowhere to be found, we certainly felt as welcomed.

Sitting at the beautiful wood bar, we were captivated by the floor to ceiling windows.  We looked out at the harbor and quickly began a discussion about whether it would be more fun to live on water or near trees.

This light debate was made all the better by a selection from the drink menu.  I felt suddenly intrigued with a Tea N’ Honey martini – Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka shaken with Barenjager Honey Liqueur and lemon juice.   It was a fabulous choice.

One of the other patrons at the bar entered into a discussion about whether the drink was “perfect,” as apparently the bartender suggests she makes perfect drinks.  I had to be honest; the drink was a perfect complement to the day.

The menu was simple Boston pub comfort food, like clam chowder, cocktail shrimp, classic Caesar, and a Bistro burger to name a few.  We went with the Five Alarm Chili, served with condiment bar and roasted polenta wedges, as the perfect addition to the Patriots game getting underway on the large screen televisions.  The chili wasn’t spicy, and wasn’t as warm as we liked, so a quick return to the kitchen took care of the warmth.

As we took in the view of the sun setting over the harbor, with the Patriots playing well, and the overall feel of the place, we both commented how comfortable 75 on Liberty Wharf is for a visit, and how we wish there was a pub as comfortable in MetroWest.

We want to go back to 75 on Liberty Wharf before the crowd finds out about the place.  It is delightful, with an accommodating, pleasant staff.  And the view?  Let’s just say living on water would be a treat.

75 on Liberty Wharf gets a GREEN LIGHT…go and enjoy.

Boston Globe 11/9/12

Last month, a bit of Beacon Hill came to Liberty Wharf when a sister to that neighborhood’s 75 Chestnut opened on the waterfront. (Owner Thomas A. Kershaw also operates Cheers.) 75 on Liberty Wharf  shares a chef, Markus Ripperger, with 75 Chestnut. The harbor view, however, is an additional benefit.

On the menu are New England bistro classics, incorporating local seafood and other ingredients. Diners will find clam chowder, crab cakes, and BLT wedge salads, along with pumpkin ravioli, seafood stew, steak sandwiches, and porterhouse pork chops. (A half-dozen items are designated gluten-free.) Desserts include cheesecake, brownies, and a pumpkin tart. 75 on Liberty Wharf is open for dinner, lunch, and brunch. For those who need motivation to get out of bed, there is a make-your-own Bloody Mary bar. In addition to beer and wine, the regular cocktail menu showcases drinks made from organic liquor, hot beverages, and mocktails.

The restaurant’s interior is modern, filled with chocolate browns and twinkling lights. Heat lamps and blankets can help take the chill off patio dining. The restaurant is a departure from the grand scale of nearby establishments such as Legal Harborside and Del Frisco’s. 75 on Liberty Wharf is smaller and cozier, but it offers the same great view.

BostonEventGuide.com 11/8/12

Boston’s renowned Restaurateur, Thomas A. Kershaw, the Chairman and CEO of Hampshire House Corporation, has officially opened the doors to his newest dining establishment, 75 on Liberty Wharf. Nestled on picturesque Boston Harbor in the Seaport District, the 120-seat space (60-seats indoors/ 60-seats outdoors) features floor-to-ceiling windows providing diners with a breathtaking, unobstructed view of the waterfront. In addition to the exceptional landscape, this regional America-inspired bistro- an inspiration of its sister restaurant 75 on Chestnut- boasts a selection of innovative New England-style fare. Created by Corporate Chef, Markus Ripperger, the menu includes a selection of signature staples, seasonal dishes and daily specials using locally sourced ingredients. With this restaurant, Kershaw’s mission is to create the local neighborhood spot where regulars have great bonds with their service team in a revamped and modernized “…where everyone knows your name,” setting. Designed by one of the city’s leading architectural firms, Patrick Ahearn – Architect, 75 on Liberty Wharf, is as comfortable as it is beautiful, offering a welcoming ambiance to everyone who walks through the door.

The culinary program at 75 on Liberty Wharf is lead by Corporate Chef, Markus Ripperger, who also oversees all aspects of the food and beverage at Kershaw’s other four establishments. With over 22 years of professional culinary and management experience behind him, Chef Ripperger, a native of Switzerland, has created a selection of regional American-inspired bistro fare that offers revamped renditions of favorite New England classics. In addition to the consistent menu, guests may choose from a selection of daily specials as well as rotating seasonal dishes. Highlights from 75 on Liberty Wharf’s dinner menu include: Pumpkin Ravioli (sautéed native butternut squash, garden sage, tomato vodka sauce and grated parmesan cheese- as a starter $10/ entrée $19); the Nantucket Seafood Stew (Gulf shrimp, scallops and hand cut salmon, swordfish, halibut and sea bass with garden vegetables and bliss potatoes-$19); and, B.B.Q. Sirloin Steak Sandwich(char grilled sirloin steak, caramelized onions, melted cheddar, zesty B.B.Q. sauce, lettuce, tomato, French bread and fries-$16). Lunchtime options consist of: Salmon BLT Sandwich (char-grilled salmon filet, lettuce, tomatoes, applewood smoked bacon, tartar sauce, ciabatta bread served with native field greens-$14) and the 75 Crab Cakes (scallion and cucumber salad, roasted red pepper coulis and balsamic reduction-$13). For brunch, highlights include: the 75 Omelet (sautéed spinach, portabello mushrooms and cheddar cheese served with brunch potatoes and breakfast sausage-$14) and the Raspberry Stuffed French Toast(raspberry preserves and cream cheese layered between brioche drizzled with maple syrup and garnished with fresh wild berries-$14).

Liberty Wharf offers five distinct cocktail menus: a non-alcoholic menu; a “Green” cocktail menu featuring libations using all natural and organic ingredients; a seasonal martini menu; a brunch cocktail menu; and, a special “Fire Pit” menu with fun takes on favorite warm cocktails like the Peppermint Hot Toddy and the Twisted Apple Cider, both perfect for enjoying fire-side on 75’s outdoor patio.  Additionally, 75 on Liberty Wharf offers a selection of six beers on-tap including local and craft selections as well as 17 beers available by the bottle. Their wine list features a number of bottles sustainable, organic or biodynamic labels and includes six white wines by-the-glass, six red wines by-the-glass, as well as 12 of each of red and white wines by the bottle.

Yelp Review 10/30/12

75 on Liberty Wharf is the perfect contemporary complement to it’s Beacon Hill big sister 75 Chestnut.  If you are lucky you may grab a table right away but it is more realistic to expect a bit of a wait as they have a puzzling reservation practice.  However their intriguing autumnal cocktail list should keep you busy and there are complementary cheese and crackers available to the more famished of patrons.  The food is delicious, especially the Pasta Caprese (think caprese salad over pasta) and the Tenderloin Medallions which literally melt in your mouth.  One can easily converse over the music and din of the crowd with one’s dinner partner despite the open seating plan and floor to ceiling windows.  Kudos 75 for bringing your upscale Beacon Hill swank to the Seaport!  Stay classy

75 on Liberty Wharf
Beacon Hill Fave Gets a Seaport Sister   Thrillist  10/20/2012

Because you shouldn’t throw stones if you live in a glass house, or a glass bar, or a glass kiosk that’s been turned into a bar, holster that rock collection when you get to 75 on Liberty Wharf: the airy, window-heavy sister spot to Beacon Hill fave 75 Chestnut, built into a vacant glass-walled, kiosk-like building at the end of Fish Pier. Upon de-boarding your stepdad’s fishing boat, plan to:

Hang: In one of three places: safely nestled at the 12-seat wood bar, fondly reminiscing about long nights at sea…world while staring through the floor-to-ceiling dining room windows, or soaking in the sun and salt air on their 10-table patio complete with a fire pit.

Eat: New England farm & ocean eats run the gamut from a smoked bacon & herb clam chowder, to pumpkin ravioli w/ sautéed native butternut squash, to a Nantucket seafood stew featuring six fish, to which Dr. Seuss responds, “No one likes an effing showoff “.

Imbibe: Casually peruse your many binders full of women over cold suds (Pretty Things, Chimay, Guinness Black Lager) or dance like everyone’s watching after taking down autumnal cocktails like the brandy & Cognac-spiked apple cider and the harvest pumpkin martini w/ vanilla vodka & Baily’s caramel, or enough of their house-infused spirits (apple-cinnamon/cranberry-orange vodka, chai tea gin, etc.) to ensure you’re incapable of throwing anything.

Eater.com 10/19/2012

Cozy new restaurant 75 on Liberty Wharf opened just two days ago in the Seaport District, forging new territory in a neighborhood dominated by mega restaurants like neighbors Jerry Remy’s and Del Frisco’s. The 35-seat space (plus patio, at least in the warmer months) takes full advantage of the harbor view with floor-to-ceiling windows on two sides, and the menu and ambiance seem to take a middle ground between older siblings Cheers and 75 Chestnut – a somewhat swankier version of a pub where everyone might eventually come to know your name. “The staff is really friendly here,” assured one employee, also noting that the restaurant hasn’t been too crowded these first few days. Better get in now before the wait times start to rival the other restaurants in the neighborhood, many of which are perpetually packed.

In a logical connection to the location, the menu is heavy on the seafood, although not all of it is sourced locally. There’s a Nantucket seafood stew and an Atlantic salmon dish, for example, but diners will also find PEI mussels and Monterey Bay calamari. Non-seafood dishes include sirloin tips, pumpkin ravioli, and a turkey panini.

The cocktail list features a lot of seasonal martinis, so lovers of pumpkin and cranberry are in for a treat. The most interesting thing about the drink offerings, though, is a dedicated list of “green libations,” seven cocktails either made with certified organic liquors or containing other organic ingredients. The Green Line, for example, features Bully Boy organic vodka with Pernod, muddled basil, and lime juice.

It’s a shame that 75 on Liberty Wharf opened just in time for the cold weather to bluster in, as the outdoor patio practically doubles the available seating, but hopefully the torches will keep it open at least for a little while. In any case, even those who snag indoor seats have plenty to stare at from the plentiful windows.

Give You Liberty
Pumpkin Martinis and Comfort Food on Liberty  Urban Daddy 10/17/2012

You’re not quite ready to give up on outdoor patios yet.

Understandable. They’re fun. And outdoors.

But it’s cold out, so this time of year you only focus on those with heat towers. And fire pits. And, if possible, pumpkin martinis.

Straighten your tie and say hi to 75 on Liberty Wharf, your new neighborhood American comfort food haven, opening today on the waterfront.

Brought to you by the people behind Cheers and 75 Chestnut in Beacon Hill, this is like the bright, super-mahogany’d, 35-seat little sister to the latter, practically kissing the waterfront next to the Fish Pier. It’s the kind of place where you’ll stop in with some office mates on a brisk day to warm up by the outdoor fire pit with a bowl of five-alarm chili. And maybe a simple glass of house-infused apple-cinnamon vodka, while watching the tuna fishermen buzz around the pier (note: quote The Perfect Storm at your own risk).

At night, you’ve got the kind of floor-to-ceiling windows ideal for a second date. And for savoring some Nantucket Seafood Stew (Gulf shrimp, hand-cut salmon, swordfish, sea bass) while you use the planes landing at Logan (and the apple-cider-and-organic-spiced-rum Stormy Northeast) to reveal you’ve just purchased tickets for a late-fall tropical island getaway.

Or just a Celtics-Hawks game.